THE MINUTES OF THE BCARD OF REGENTS OF

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SYSTEM

VOLUME XXXIII - F

Meeting No. 818

July 12, 1986

Dallas, Texas

Meeting No. 819
August 4, 1986
Austin, Texas

and

Meeting No. 820
August 14-15, 1986
Austin, Texas

Meeting Ho. 818

THE MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF REGENTS

OF

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SYSTEM

Pages 1 - 2

July 12, 1986

Dallas, Texas

TABLE OF CONTENTS
THE MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF REGENTS
OF
THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SYSTEM
JULY 12, 1986
DALLAS, TEXAS

MEETING NO. 818

JULY 12, 1986

Attendance

II.	U. T. Health Science Center - Dallas:	
	Approval of Exception to the Recents!	
	Rules and Regulations, Part One	
	Chapter II, Section 4.3, and Charles C	
	Sprague, M.D., Appointed President- Emeritus Effective September 1, 1986	

III. U. T. Health Science Center - Dallas:
Authorization to Waive the Regents'
Rules and Regulations, Part One, Chapter VIII, Section 1.1, and Approval to
Name the Clinical Science Building the
Charles C. Sprague Clinical Science
Building

U. T. Health Science Center - Dallas:
C. Kern Wildenthal, M.D., Appointed
President (Chief Administrative Officer)
Effective September 1, 1986, and Advisory
Committee for the Selection of a President
Discharged

2

2

1

্র 1

MEETING NO. 818

SATURDAY, JULY 12, 1986.—The members of the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System convened at 9:00 a.m. on Saturday, July 12, 1986, in the Parisian Room of the Fairmont Hotel in Dallas, Texas, with the following in attendance:

ATTENDANCE . --

Present
Chairman Hay, presiding
Vice-Chairman Baldwin
Vice-Chairman Ratliff
Regent Blanton
Regent (Mrs.) Briscoe
Regent (Mrs.) Milburn
Regent Rhodes
Regent Roden
Regent Yzaguirre

Absent
Executive Vice Chancellor Patrick

Executive Secretary Dilly

Chancellor Mark
Executive Vice Chancellor Duncan
Executive Vice Chancellor Mullins

Chairman Hay announced a quorum present and called the special meeting of the Board to order.

In response to Chairman Hay's inquiry regarding the wishes of the Board, the following actions were taken:

U. T. Health Science Center - Dallas: Approval of Exception to the Regents' Rules and Regulations, Part One, Chapter II, Section 4.3, and Charles C. Sprague, M.D., Appointed President-Emeritus Effective September 1, 1986.—Upon motion of Vice-Chairman Ratliff, seconded by Vice-Chairman Baldwin, the Board authorized an exception to Section 4.3 of Chapter II of Part One of the Regents' Rules and Regulations, which requires that certain honorary designations be conferred only on individuals who are fully retired, and awarded the title of President-Emeritus to Charles C. Sprague, M.D., of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas effective September 1, 1986.

On August 31, 1986, Dr. Sprague will retire from the presidency of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas and will remain with the institution in a special consultant capacity until the early part of 1987.

Dr. Sprague has served as the Chief Administrative Officer of the U. T. Health Science Center - Dallas since 1967. During his distinguished service in that capacity, the institution has achieved national and international stature and acclaim for the exceptional quality of its medical education, research and patient care programs.

U. T. Health Science Center - Dallas: Authorization to Waive the Regents' Rules and Regulations, Part One, Chapter VIII, Section 1.1, and Approval to Name the Clinical Science Building the Charles C. Sprague Clinical Science Building.--Upon motion of Vice-Chairman Ratliff, seconded by Regent Roden, Section 1.1 of Chapter VIII of Part One of the Regents' Rules and Regulations, which requires that persons in whose honor a building is to be named "shall have been deceased at least five years," was waived and the Clinical Science Building at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas was named the "Charles C. Sprague Clinical Science Building" in honor of President Sprague's invaluable and extraordinary service to this component of The University of Texas System.

RECESS TO EXECUTIVE SESSION. -- Chairman Hay announced that the Board would recess to convene in Executive Session pursuant to Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes, Article 6252-17, Section 2(g) to consider the possible election and employment of a President for The University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas.

RECONVENE. -- At 10:50 a.m., the members of the Board reconvened in open session to consider the item discussed in Executive Session. In response to Chairman Hay's inquiry regarding the wishes of the Board, the following action was taken:

U. T. Health Science Center - Dallas: C. Kern Wildenthal, M.D., Appointed President (Chief Administrative Officer) Effective September 1, 1986, and Advisory Committee for the Selection of a President Discharged.—Regent Briscoe moved that C. Kern Wildenthal, M.D., currently Dean of the U. T. Southwestern Medical School - Dallas, be elected President of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas effective September 1, 1986, at a compensation to be negotiated with Executive Vice Chancellor Mullins and reported to the Board via the usual budgetary procedures.

Regent Briscoe further moved that the Advisory Committee for the Selection of a President (Chief Administrative Officer) for the U. T. Health Science Center - Dallas be discharged with the sincere appreciation of the Board for its thoughtful attention to its important responsibility.

Vice-Chairman Baldwin seconded the motion which prevailed by unanimous vote.

Dr. Wilder hal expresed his appreciation to the Board for its confidence in him and pledged his best efforts in the discharge of his new responsibilities at the U. T. Health Science Center - Dallas.

Adjournment. -- There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:55 a.m.

Arthur H. Dilly Executive Secretary

July 14, 1986